iPhone Duo pre-order deals from AT&T landed on 9 October 2026, and the headline $1,200 arrives as 36 monthly bill credits, not money off at the till. The offer needs a trade-in worth $230 or more and AT&T’s Premium 2.0 plan, from $100 a month. Pre-orders open 16 October.

What AT&T Is Actually Offering on the iPhone Duo

AT&T, the Dallas-based carrier, announced three separate offers, and they stack differently depending on whether a customer is switching networks or ordering online.

OfferMaximum valueHow it is paidCore requirement
Trade-in discountUp to $1,20036 monthly bill creditsEligible smartphone trade-in with a minimum value of $230, plus Premium 2.0 activation
Switcher offerUp to $800 per lineReward card, delivered in 8 to 10 weeksPorting in a new line; submit your most recent rival bill within 60 days
Online ordering discountUp to $200 per line36 monthly bill credits of $5.56Online order activating a new line on an eligible unlimited plan from $60 a month

The trade-in and switcher offers are open to both new and existing customers. The $800 switcher amount is not a flat payment: AT&T’s release says the “reward card amount [is] based on remaining balance owed on your competing wireless provider smartphone (up to $800/line, up to 10 lines)”.

The iPhone Duo is Apple’s first folding iPhone and starts at $1,999 in the United States. Readus247 has previously covered the 23 October release date and the removal of Face ID, and the three tiers of app compatibility on the folding screen.

The Conditions Attached to the $1,200 Figure

The fine print in AT&T’s release sets five conditions on the largest discount, and failing any one of them changes what a customer receives.

  • Thirty-six monthly credits: the release states “up to $1,200 off after 36 monthly credits”, so the full value is realised only after three years of billing. Credits begin within three bills.
  • A trade-in floor of $230: the offer “req’s trade-in of an eligible smartphone with min. trade-in value $230 or more”. A device appraised below that threshold does not qualify.
  • A $1,999.99 installment minimum: the purchase must put at least $1,999.99 on an installment plan, which is the entry price of the Duo itself.
  • Premium 2.0 activation: the line must be on AT&T’s Premium 2.0 plan, described in the release as “min. $100/mo. + taxes & fees; before discounts”. AT&T adds that “not all plans qualify”.
  • Service continuity: if service is cancelled, the credits stop and the remaining device balance becomes due immediately.

The $200 online discount carries a similar structure. It is paid as 36 credits of $5.56 a month, requires keeping eligible service for 36 months after credits start, and excludes AT&T’s Value Plus, Value Plus VL and Value Plus Unlimited plans. A $35 activation or upgrade fee applies, and the offer is limited to one bill-credit offer per eligible new line.

The figure in AT&T’s announcement is therefore a maximum contingent on a three-year commitment, not a discount applied at purchase.

What the Other Carriers Have and Have Not Confirmed

AT&T is the only major US carrier to have published detailed iPhone Duo trade-in terms, and the position at the other three ranges from partial to silent.

  • Verizon: the only Duo-specific term reported is a waived activation fee. Its widely reported up-to-$1,200 trade-in offer applies to the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max, not the Duo, and that offer itself runs over a 36-month payment plan paid as monthly promotional credits.
  • T-Mobile: reporting in the run-up to pre-orders said T-Mobile had no Duo-specific discount, while confirming that its pre-orders open on 16 October alongside everyone else’s.
  • Xfinity Mobile: Comcast’s 9 September 2026 release offers up to $1,300 off “any new iPhone model with an eligible trade-in” for customers on a Mobile Plus line, and lists Duo pre-orders for 16 October. That release does not state how the credit is delivered or over how many months. Tom’s Guide has separately reported the Duo figure as up to $1,000, so the Duo-specific amount is unsettled.
  • Customers without a trade-in: Comcast’s release offers Mobile Plus customers $400 off the latest iPhone line-up with no trade-in. AT&T’s announcement sets out no equivalent no-trade-in discount on the Duo.

Because three of the four have not published Duo trade-in schedules, the only terms that can be checked against a company document today are AT&T’s and Comcast’s general iPhone offer.

How Apple’s Own Trade-In Compares

Apple’s route is smaller in headline value but immediate, and the two mechanisms differ in kind rather than degree.

FeatureAT&T trade-in offerApple trade-in
Headline maximumUp to $1,200Up to $885 for an iPhone 13 or later, as reported; Apple publishes no maximum
When the value landsAcross 36 monthly bill creditsApplied to the purchase price at checkout
Plan requirementPremium 2.0, from $100 a month before discountsNone
If you leave the carrierCredits stop; device balance becomes dueNot applicable
Device return windowNot stated in the release14 days from receiving the new device

Apple’s own trade-in terms say values “will vary based on the condition, year, and configuration” of the device and set no published ceiling. The $175 to $885 range for an iPhone 13 or newer comes from press reporting rather than from Apple, and Apple has not published Duo-specific trade-in values. Apple’s page also states the traded device must be returned within 14 days of receiving the new one, and that Apple may issue a revised offer if its condition does not match the description.

Key Dates Before Pre-Orders Open

As of 11 October 2026, three dates are confirmed and one set of terms is still missing.

  • Friday 16 October 2026: pre-orders open. AT&T and Comcast both give this date, and general Apple Store pre-orders begin at 5:00 a.m. Pacific time.
  • Friday 23 October 2026: general availability, in the United States and more than 70 other countries and regions.
  • Still unpublished: Duo-specific trade-in schedules from Verizon and T-Mobile, and the credit mechanics behind Comcast’s up-to-$1,300 figure.

On software, AT&T’s release describes the new Siri as “an entirely new version of Siri, rolling out in beta in English with iOS 27”, and its footnotes state that the feature requires an Apple Intelligence-enabled device set to a supported language, is not available to users under 13, and “will not be initially available in the EU on iOS”. That regional limit matches what Apple set out at the iOS 27 release on 14 September 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

When Do iPhone Duo Pre-Orders Open?

Friday 16 October 2026, with general availability on Friday 23 October. Apple Store pre-orders start at 5:00 a.m. Pacific time, and AT&T and Xfinity Mobile both list the same pre-order date.

Is AT&T’s $1,200 iPhone Duo Discount Paid Upfront?

No. AT&T’s release states the amount arrives “after 36 monthly credits”, with credits starting within three bills. If the service is cancelled, the credits stop and the outstanding device balance is due.

What Trade-In Value Does AT&T’s Offer Require?

A minimum of $230. The release requires “trade-in of an eligible smartphone with min. trade-in value $230 or more”, along with at least $1,999.99 on an installment plan and activation on the Premium 2.0 plan.

Have Verizon and T-Mobile Announced iPhone Duo Deals?

Not in detail. The only Verizon term reported for the Duo is a waived activation fee, and T-Mobile had no Duo-specific discount in reporting ahead of pre-orders. Their widely cited up-to-$1,200 offers apply to the iPhone 18 Pro and Pro Max.

How Much Does Apple Give for a Trade-In on the iPhone Duo?

Apple publishes no maximum and no Duo-specific figures, saying values vary by condition, year and configuration. Press reporting puts the range at $175 to $885 for an iPhone 13 or later, credited at checkout rather than over time.