Indian Govt Planning to Reduce The Number Of State-Owned Banks

    The Indian Government is planning to reduce the number of state-owned banks to five rather than twelve.

    The report states that the amount of state-owned banks should be reduced to only five by selling the majority stakes in Bank of India, Central Bank of India, Indian Overseas Bank, UCO Bank, Bank of Maharashtra, and Punjab & Sind Bank.

    The Ministry of Finance has not commented on the subject as laid down in the paper.

    During a time when the economy is under pressure due to the continuing COVID-19 pandemic, the government attempts to gain revenue by selling commodities to non-core companies and sectors.

    A number of government committees and the Indian Reserve Bank (RBI) proposed that India should restrict its state-owned banks to five.

    In 2019, Ten state-owned banks were merged into Four but the government official told: “The government has already said that there will be no more mergers (between state-owned banks) so the only option for them is to divest stakes.”

    Latest articles

    How to Change WiFi Password if Myfiosgateway Not Working?

    By using Myfiosgateway, a Verizon Router, users are able to transmit various digital media and other details to other computers in their offices or...

    What is The Best 5GHz Channel For Your Router? (2021)

    It might be known to many users that 36, 40, 44, 48 are the Best 5GHz Channels for Routers. Routers are very essential in our...

    How to Watch Live TV on Hulu (Expert Guide 2021)

    Streaming has now become a preferable option for consumers. Many of the companies like Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, YouTube TV, and Sling TV has...

    Why Is My Laptop So Slow? How Can I Speed It Up? (2021)

    You might be wondering, why is my laptop so slow? How can I make it fast? If your Windows is not fast enough like...

    Related articles